IN MEMORIAM ~ MEMORIAL DAY

.
Amazing Grace…
.
How sweet the sound…
.
…that saved a wretch like me…
.
I once was lost, but now I’m found… was blind, but now I see.
When 2nd Lt. James Cathey's body arrived at the Reno Airport, Marines climbed into the cargo hold of the plane and draped the flag over his casket as passengers watched the family gather on the tarmac. During the arrival of another Marine's casket last year at Denver International Airport, Major Steve Beck described the scene as one of the most powerful in the process:
When 2nd Lt. James Cathey’s body arrived at the Reno Airport, Marines climbed into the cargo hold of the plane and draped the flag over his casket as passengers watched the family gather on the tarmac. During the arrival of another Marine’s casket last year at Denver International Airport, Major Steve Beck described the scene as one of the most powerful in the process: “See the people in the windows? They’ll sit right there in the plane, watching those Marines. You gotta wonder what’s going through their minds, knowing that they’re on the plane that brought him home,” he said. “They’re going to remember being on that
plane for the rest of their lives. They’re going to remember bringing that Marine home. And they should.”
(TODD HEISLER/ROCKY MOUNTAIN NEWS)
.
‘Twas Grace that taught my heart to fear, and Grace my fears relieved; 
.
How precious did that Grace appeared, the hour I first believed.
.
Through many dangers, toils and snares, I have already come
Brittany Jacobs kisses her son Chris near the grave site of her late husband, Christopher Jacobs, at Section 60 on Memorial Day at Arlington National Cemetery in Arlington, Virginia, Monday, May 27, 2013. (AP Photo/Molly Riley)
‘Tis Grace hath brought me safe thus far, and Grace will lead me home. 
.
The Lord has promised good to me, His Word my hope secure; he will my Shield and Portion be, as long as life endures.
.
Yea, when this flesh and heart shall fail, and mortal life shall cease…
.
I shall possess within the veil, a life of joy and peace…
.
The earth shall soon dissolve like snow, the sun forebear to shine…
.
But God who called me here below, will be forever mine.
ARLINGTON, VA - MAY 26:  William McKeen sits at the grave of his best friend Kevin Lucas in Section 60 of Arlington National Cemetery May 26, 2008 in Arlington, Virginia. Section 60 is where many of those who have died in the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan have been buried. Memorial Day, a federal holiday in the US, commemorates members of America's military that died while in service to their country. First enacted to honor Union soldiers of the American Civil War, it was expanded after World War I to include casualties of any war or military action.  (Photo by Brendan Smialowski/Getty Images)
When we’ve been there ten thousand years, bright shining as the sun
.
We’ve no less days to sing God’s Praise, than when we’d first began.
.
Amazing Grace…
.
GREATER LOVE HAS NO ONE THAN THIS, THAN ONE, LAY DOWN HIS LIFE FOR HIS FRIENDS…. John 15:13
.
I am the Good Shepherd; the Good Shepherd gives his life for the sheep … John 10:11
.
I tell you, my friends, do not be afraid  of those who kill the body and after that can do no more… Luke 12:4
.
Who dwells in the shelter of the Most High, will rest in the shadow of the Almighty…
.
I will say of The Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God in whom I trust. Psalm 91

.

.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Dog tags signifying each soldier killed in action that has passed through School of Infantry East, are displayed on a memorial in the entrance of Ivy Hall - the headquarters of the school - at Camp Lejeune in North Carolina on Thursday, September 30, 2010. (Sheila Vemmer/staff)
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
You won't see this on the news
You won’t see this on the news
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Noah Galloway
Noah Galloway
.
.
.
.
.
.

2 thoughts on “IN MEMORIAM ~ MEMORIAL DAY

  1. I LOVE LOVE this blog about what Memorial Day is all about! Thank You for taking the time to make it and fir sharing it with Us!!! Very beautiful and so very touching!
    That picture of Chris Kyle is a great one! I got to see the movie about his life “American Sniper” and it was Incredible!!!!
    Xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

