Here comes the Sunshine! Jonathan Adler and Eddie Ross, part I

All of us who are living in the Northern Hemisphere are starting to feel the winter blues… Yes, inevitably, when the Holiday’s lights start to disappear, those moody blues begin to show up! … And what is one to do when confronted with the harsh reality of a long winter ahead of you without any prospects of skiing in St. Moritz?!

Dream!  All we have to do is dream of a world full of colour and light, full of energie and happy thoughts … and to help you do just that I am sharing these wonderful pictures of the work of two amazing designers, masters of colour and pattern, who are not afraid of mixing anything… and I mean:  Anything!

Don’t judge, just enjoy, go with the flow, let yourself float and be invigorated, I won’t say anything because I can’t, design has that effect on me, makes me really, REALLY, emotional and sometimes it is hard to do anything else but soak it all in and wonder why Eddie Ross and I are not best friends yet.  We should be, we have so much in common!  I know if he knew me he would adore me … Ok, back to reality, here we go!  -Today is Jonathan the one bringing the sunshine and tomorrow  Eddie will be the chosen one!

Jonathan Adler.jpg

Yes!   -Traditional elements mixed with modern furniture from the Jonathan Adler’s collection, totally inspired by  modern-mid century design and by the genius designers that created the best armchairs since the Klismos chair, all mixed together with my beloved dark, lacquered walls (well, these are not lacquered but they are paneled, so I love them so!) and those balloon things, so similar to Koons dogs. Jonathan is a gifted designer and an artist, he was a potter first before becoming an interior designer and now, apart from his furniture collection, he has a really cool accessory line made of brass, glass and lucite.


modern-pottery-malachite-vases-a-spr15-jonathan-adler.jpg

Modern Pottery. Jonathan Adler malachite vases, what a bright bunch!

modern-malibu-chairs-fall13-jonathan-adler.jpg

We can’t deny how happy and fun this is and I love that they didn’t leave the ceiling unfinished … no idea what it is, could be tin, could be plaster, could be wood, I don’t know, but it sure is beautiful

Living-Room-Upholstered-Chair-Jonathan-Adler-Maxime-Lounge-Chair-Shearling-e1440648009915.jpg

I’ll try to keep the comments to a minimum from this point on so I can share more pictures… (but please notice those gorgeous, colorful books inside the heart of the chimney, coolness!)

modern-Malibu-Sectional-styled-jonathan-adler.jpg


So fresh and clean, still mid-century but with a contemporary air and refinement

635782582276557568-1-Jonathan-Adler.JPG

How about that?!  I love the J.A. Topanga sofa and I am finally coming to terms with the Brigitte chair. (I kind of love it. I don’t know, I need to see it in person to really know)… – It was hard for me at the beginning, when all the modern craziness started, to accept this trend.  Having grown-up  during the 70’s I got sick of seeing a lot of this period’s furniture and decor and not in it’s best versions, nothing to do with the refinement of what we see now!  On the other hand, no pun intended, I adore the lucite giant hand.

9fa7f382b02e746ccb36ec6ef6453f06.jpg

Even the giant Sputnik chandelier has found a place in my heart. I also love all the movement and flow coming from the undulating brass base of the Scalinatella table, the Bacharach swivel chair, the sputnik chandelier, with its rays darting into space in every direction possible and the chevron pattern in the area rug…. and what about those gorgeous blue balloons that look like they are ready to fly?!

modern-furniture-jacques-rider-spr15-jonathan-adler.jpg

The brass bird bowls are so cute and would look amazing anywhere, from the mantel to the bookcase, on the coffee table or in a tablescape!

788db6164cd233be1c2c29b721689457.jpg

Now, I draw the line at those mongolian lamb benches! I always hated them and founded them ridiculous… but now I am so afraid one day I might find myself liking them! who knows.

Portrait_000.jpg

IMG_0485.jpg

The Caracas dining table paired with his Goldfinger dining chairs, absolutely stunning!  – Check his website for details!

IMG_0488.jpg

IMG_0483.jpg

The fabulous Jonathan Adler preparing a photoshoot for the 2016 catalog! Most of the last pictures I found at Jonathan’s Instagram.   instagram.com/jonathanadler

IMG_0484.jpginstagram.com/jonathanadler

IMG_0551.jpg

instagram.com/jonathanadler

IMG_0491.jpgIMG_0499.jpg

JA-RoomBed_01retouched.jpg

Eau Palm Beach Resort and Spa, designed by Jonathan Adler

Well, that is all for today, I think I will share Eddie Ross fabulous style tomorrow so he can have all the attention he deserves and because I am absolutely tired!  One picture of Eddie’s awesomeness to enjoy next. Thank you for visiting, almost 21,000 hits or visits to my 40 posts!!!! Thanks again, I have no idea how that compares to anything or what that means but to me it’s a gianormous amount of visits and I am more than grateful.

Eddie Ross and Bunny Williams.jpg

The magnificent collaboration between the sweet and talented Eddie with the amazing Bunny Williams… I fell in love the moment I saw this!

jonathan-adler-nursery-1024x554.jpg

So, what do you think?  What do you feel about the Mid Century Modern revival we’ve been experiencing for a while? Do you like it or not?

 

M.T.

 

4 thoughts on “Here comes the Sunshine! Jonathan Adler and Eddie Ross, part I

  1. I love the confident use of colours in these pictures – especially when bold colour is contrasted with white walls or white seating (though white furniture would be so impractical for me, I still enjoy seeing it). The lime washed beam in the last picture is great! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for commenting Susan! I have lived with white slipcovered furniture for years and survived! I’m craving color now but not to the extent of my last post, that was just to bring an explosion of color in my very white world 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

